RSS

Ohhhh we’ve been here before, my friends

18 Sep

It feels like it’s been a long time since I wrote.  And really: I’m not sure about why that is.  Well, that’s not true, exactly.  It’s just that every time I start to think, “I should blog,” the following thought is invariably, “About what though?”

It seems I have nothing to say.

Those who know me would say that this is a physical impossibility: surely Michelle has something to say.  Otherwise, she’d be dead!

I know, I know… I think the thing is, my world is changing and I have as yet to get my feet under me.

I’ve been saying for a few days now that the 4-year gap between each of my children is wonderful.  I means that the older one(s) can dress themselves, wash their own faces and brush their teeth even.  They can find their hats, shoes and backpacks, and even put them on themselves.  It’s a godsend, believe you me, when you’re trying to get everyone out the door for the day at 7:30 in the morning.  On the other hand, it’s just long enough that you forget pretty much everything.

Ellie will be 13 weeks old tomorrow, and 3 months old next Thursday.  She has slipped into a great nighttime sleep pattern (for which I am extremely grateful) and I think she might be mapping out a daytime sleep routine too.  Is she too young to do this?  My cousin, friend, and fellow blogger told me on Sunday that it might be a bit early, but somewhere around 12-16 weeks they really seem to establish a sleep pattern.  Well, she’s within that window then so that must be what’s happening.  What I hate though… and really: I hate it…  is that she will not sleep in her car seat.  She’ll sleep in the bassinet stroller, which works out okay when I want to go for a walk, but today?  Today I have errands to run in preparation for my conference in Ottawa this weekend and well, I need her in her car seat!

But no.  If I force the issue, she simply screams and screams, ceasing only when she is finally finally laid in her crib.  How do I know?  Because I’ve tried.  And wow…  this is a very determined little person.

So instead of marking things off my to-do list (like getting panty hose; which I haven’t worn in almost a full year now and I hope that I still remember where to buy the ones I like) I’m at home.  Waiting.  HA!  I’m in “The Waiting Place,” as Dr Suess described in Oh, The Places You’ll Go!  I’m waiting for a baby to wake, for a bus to arrive.  For the boys to come home, for bags to be unpacked, for the time to be right. I’m just… waiting.

While I wait, I’m throwing my Weight Watchers week to hell by eating blueberry banana cake and considering the merits of chocolate.  Won’t you join me for a slice, and maybe even a cuppa tea?

 

P.S.: In case you were wondering, Sam is just loving school.  In fact, at the end of his first week, he was upset that he couldn’t go to school on Saturday and Sunday.  So that’s a good sign.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2012 in Family, Raising Kids

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Ohhhh we’ve been here before, my friends

  1. Rebecca

    September 20, 2012 at 3:57 am

    Ah, Irene was one of those babies. She just wouldn’t sleep on the go. She needed to be swaddled in her own crib in a darkened room. It did make for good sleep habits though!

    Also, I get the waiting thing. I’ve been feeling lately like I’m just waiting for Mary to get old enough … To play independently, watch TV, potty train, etc. etc. But then I feel horrible for wishing away the last of her babyhood, the last of MY babyhood.

     
    • realfoodcooking

      September 20, 2012 at 11:05 pm

      Ah, that’s the other thing, Rebecca! I keep hearing my mother-in-law sing some country song to me, “You’re going to miss this, you’re going to want this back…” when I have these moments of irritation. Can’t a girl just comment about the inconvenience??? Sheesh!

       
  2. Rachel

    September 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Oh yes, Noah wouldn’t sleep in his carseat, either. He insisted on SCREAMING constantly. It was awful! I was so frustrated – I’d always heard all babies slept in carseats!

     
    • realfoodcooking

      September 20, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      Right?!?! That’s their *thing*!! They always sleep in the car! How many times have we heard tales from parents saying, “I remember when your Dad had to drive you around the neighbourhood just so you’d go to sleep!” ~sigh… some parents have all the luck.

       

Leave a Reply

 
