RSS

Springtime & House Hunting

20 Apr

There’s something about the spring, isn’t there?  That gets you thinking about renewal, about starting to shake up your routine and introduce something new…  For many, they start to get itchy feet thinking about where they’re headed and speeding up to get there faster.  And of course, there are those who become obsessed with real estate.

When we were selling our house just over 2 years ago now, we were told that in reality, in the market that we lived in, there was no “good time” to get on the market.  It seems that the addage “You can tell it’s spring – there are ‘for sale’ signs popping up everywhere,” no longer fits in Toronto.  Given that our house sold in 12 days, after going on the market in early January, I’m going to say that our Realtors were right.  And really, I’m not sure that it fits out here in Ajax either…

A friend of mine has been looking for a place for a couple of weeks.  Maybe a month now.  And another friend of mine has been chronicling the hunt she’s on for the family’s dream home for a few weeks now on her blog.  Another friend is talking about selling her place and getting something else for her and her family to move too.  And while it’s true that MOMD & I are utterly happy here in our home, I find myself from time to time scoping out MLS to see what’s happening out there.  What would I move for?  What would MOMD & I need to find before we were willing to consider it?

Well, we lost our guest room the moment we learned that Number 3 is arriving this summer.  It’s become Connor’s room, Sam moved into Connor’s old room, and Sam’s old room has become the nursery.  So we no longer have a room for our family who Come-From-Away to stay when they are here. (Did I mention that my in-laws arrive on July 2, and the baby will be delivered on July 5?  True story.  And there’s no where for them to sleep for the duration of their 2 week stay.)  So I guess we would look at moving if we could get a 5 bedroom house.

And you know, if the basement were finished here then we *would* have a 5th bedroom.  So I guess if we found a house with 5 bedrooms, and a finished basement we could move for that.  And it would have to have a fantastic kitchen.  Because you know, my kitchen is all right.  It’s nothing fancy, although the size is wonderful when you consider that I came here from a 6-cupboard + 1 drawer kitchen before this.  But it’s builder basic stuff.  One of my friends has just bought what was a model home and let me tell you: THAT is a gorgeous kitchen*.

If a house is around that has all of this, plus the wonderful community feel of our current neighbourhood – because that is, after all what we were really looking for when we bought this home – and a good sized backyard, all for the price we paid for this house – or less, I would consider paying less than we paid here – then maybe I’ll scratch these itchy feet.  Until then, I’ll go back to trying to choose a paint colour for my kitchen…

*Note: that kitchen is totally wasted on her, she who hates to cook!
 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Randomness

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Springtime & House Hunting

  1. Retta

    April 20, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    I rarely comment on your blog… not because I find it lacking, but usually because I am reading it from my smartphone and can’t see to type a response from the little screen. When I saw your posting today, I knew that I needed to check out your blog on my laptop. LMFAO! Need I say more… you are welcome to cook in my kitchen anytime, I will be happily sitting at my table drinking wine and admiring it from afar 🙂 xoxo girl!

     
    • realfoodcooking

      April 21, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      As long as you keep the bevvies flowing and the fridge stocked, I’ll cook for you anytime. 🙂

       
  2. Rebecca

    April 21, 2012 at 1:05 am

    Love the new look here at MMSB. Swapping blog themes is so much cheaper and easier than real estate, isn’t it? I’ve been telling myself lately that I’m actually happy we have such a fixer upper because then I can just throw myself into a project here whenever I feel the need for something new. Now if I can only quite MLS …

     
    • realfoodcooking

      April 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      Thanks! I think it’s a lot easier to read, and it’s getting good feedback. I didn’t mention it in the post, but the other reason I’m not really seriously considering moving is that GOD — you *actually* have to physically MOVE then!! lol…

       

Leave a Reply

 
