RSS

I… I didn’t expect this.

14 Mar

You know, when I was pregnant with my first-born, everyone told me that my life was going to change dramatically and that I would never again be the same.  Other mothers told me that, well meaning strangers, and even old ladies who were rubbing my belly – without permission, in Gerrard Square (those of you who know the fresh hell that is Gerrard Square can clearly understand how freakin’ creepy this was) of all places – told me this.  And of course, I knew it myself.  I mean, my salary was about to be dramatically reduced, and therefore no more wine budget.  But I knew too in other, less obvious ways, I would be forever changed.

I was scared.  I mean, I don’t know if you remember this or not, but I was never going to have children.  I was going to be the crazy aunt, with the high-flying career, who travelled the world and impressed her bevy of nieces and nephews with the ever-increasing cool factor that was my life.  You know what they say about life right?  “It’s what happens when you’re making other plans.”  Boy-howdy can I attest to the truth of this addage.

Anyway.  I’ve been doing this Mother thing for almost 8 years now (how is it possible that my baby is going to be 8 in 12 days?!?!  In-con-ceivable!) and I’ve had my fair share of unexpected things.  Like giving up my “high-flying career” and choosing to stay home, which I’ve been doing now for almost 3 years.  Somethings though…  you can never prepare for.

I mean, maybe when I was a kid I thought that maybe one day I’d have kids and I’d stay home with them like Patty Brown’s (my best friend in grade 2) mom did.  So maybe it was on my radar in some what.  What I had zero ability to imagine is that…  is that a grown man, singing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” or “Turkey in the Straw” could be so…  so…  attractive.

That’s right people: I am coming out and telling you that I have a crazy crush on this man:

Object of my affection, Blue Wiggle Anthony Field

It’s his eyes, it’s his accent (the Wiggles are Australian), and lord knows I have always swooned for a man who can sing.  But really…  I never expected to have a thing for a children’s entertainer.  It feels wrong somehow; almost pedophile-adjacent.  Which IT IS NOT.  I mean, he’s a grown man, I’m a grown woman, we’re not related, it’s totally legal and not at all taboo.  Especially when you know he looks like this when he’s not working:

   

Mr Blue Wiggle himself, out of costume. YUM.

And such a lovely smile, no?

So there you go.  I didn’t expect it, but I don’t think I’m totally crazy either.  Do you?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Oversharing

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “I… I didn’t expect this.

  1. jenbeth5

    March 14, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Hay I’m not a mom and I love him too! I preorderd his book mounths ago!!

     
    • realfoodcooking

      March 14, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      ~phew! So relieved I’m not alone. 🙂 I tried to check your blog, but it’s marked private. Is that intentional? Np if it is — I just wanted to read about you too. Make it a great day!

       
  2. Skwishee

    March 26, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    He is totally my favourite Wiggle… and if you’re going to be forced to listen to children’s songs all day, there might as well be something in it for you, huh? 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
