RSS

Really? Again??

13 Mar

You might recall that last week, Connor was sick.  And you may be able to guess from the title of this post, that this week, Sam is sick.  It seems to be the same bug, so I guess it takes a few days to incubate before showing overt signs.  Connor was well and truly back in the saddle by Thursday.  And it was Sunday night that Sam’s fever spiked.

You might note that today is Tuesday.  That’s right, it’s been almost 72 hours of him being sick.  Last night was by far the hardest.  He awoke at about 12:50 came into our room, and puked.  MOMD got that all cleaned up and sorted out (thanks M! You’re a superstar) and then at 1:20 he rolled over and said to me, “I think he just puked in his bed.”  We both jumped out of bed and yep…  yep he had.  I took him downstairs (he was saying that he needed to eat something) and again, MOMD dealt with the mess.  We came down, and I was going to get him 1 cracker.  By the time we got to the kitchen though, he wanted just apple juice.  So I got him some.  He drank it down in a moment and then asked for water.  I got him some more of that.

**note: ROOKIE MISTAKE!

(You might be thinking, “Rookie?  How can she be a “rookie” when she’s got an 8-year-old who had the same illness just a few days ago?!?!”  You aren’t wrong to ask that question.  Here’s my answer: Connor has never been a sick child.  Last week was the first time he’s had anything in more than 2 years.  And even then, he threw up once.  Yes, he catches the occasional cold, but that’s it.  He has a very hearty constitution, it seems.  Sam, on the other hand, got sick a lot when he was a baby.  He’s been well mostly now for about 18 months, but still.  Connor=healthy Sam=sickly.  The birth order allows me to feel like a rookie.  Herein ends the note to my note.)

He drank that in a flash as well and went to the couch.  He snuggled down into the new blanket I got at my Arbonne retreat, I was cleaning up the cups and BAM!  Puke all over the blanket, all over the couch.  (Have I mentioned that I bought a lovely, gorgeous white couch for our house when we moved here?  Yeah.  I did.  And that’s the couch he puked on.)  I went to help him up, and he started to puke again, at the other end of the couch, and all over the floor…  I got him to the bathroom, but by the time we got there everything was out of his system.

Of course, what came up was all that liquid I had just fed him.  Silly rookie!!  Anyway.  He sat on the chair in the kitchen (his jammies were now covered in vomit) while I cleaned it up.  Once that was done, I took him back upstairs, got him changed into fresh PJ’s, another dose of tylenol (the fever that was gone when we went to bed at 10:00 was now back) and tucked him into his freshly made bed.  It was around 1:40 when I got back into bed.

I was still awake at 3:15.

Needless to say, I feel am not feeling my best today; all of last night’s shenanigans happened on the tail of the night before’s fever-dreams which Sam could handle and kept waking himself up from.  In the past 48 hours, I have slept about 11 hours, where I would normally have slept for 16-18 hours.  This morning I gave in and had a fizz tab (which I haven’t done since we found out about #3; so since sometime in November) so I could drive Connor to my Mom’s house.  My niece is there on a little March Break getaway, and we had planned to all go there today to decorate cupcakes (here’s the project I was inspired by: http://www.bakerella.com/butterfly-cupcakes-and-some-fun-news/).  (Have I mentioned just how much I love and adore Bakerella?  I do.  Although I’m a little tired of cake pops.  Just sayin’.)  I baked all the cupcakes yesterday, made the icing, and I have all the candy and whatnot to complete the project.  I’m taking all of it to my Mom.  She can do the project with the kids.  I’m bummed that I won’t be there, but I need a nap like you could not believe.

The strange part is that I feel worse today than I ever remember feeling with a newborn…  how does that make sense???  My Mom said that it has something to do with (a) expecting to be disrupted by your baby, and being able to bring them into your bed to nurse them while you sorta sleep; and (b) the stress of someone being sick.  GOD I hope she’s right.  Otherwise, how am I ever going to cope come July and this little delight is born?!?

Here’s what I’ve decided though: I’m not going to beat myself up about how I’m feeling because it’s not going to make a difference at all.  I’m just going to go with it and do what I need to do to get through the day.  And be grateful.  For what you ask?  Well last night as I was trying to sleep and fretting about missing the cupcake party today, I made a list of what I’m grateful for.  Last night, it looked something like this:

  1. I am grateful for a partner who will hop out of bed to clean up puke in the middle of the night, even though he has a train to catch in the morning, meaning he leaves the house no later than 6:45 every morning.
  2. I am grateful that we have lots of mattress protectors, so it’s not the end of the world when there are 2 accidents in a bed in one day.
  3. I am grateful for washing machines that clean the clothes, sheets, toys etc, so effectively.
  4. I am grateful that while I may be loosing my shi* inside, when my kids are sick all they see is calm and composed me.

This afternoon I would add one more thing to the list: I am grateful for yesterday’s laziness that saw me buy a prepared (but not dressed) spinach salad for dinner that was big enough that there were leftovers for today’s lunch.  So I could be lazy and healthy today.  Amen.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Family, Sickness/Wellness

 

2 responses to “Really? Again??

  1. Rebecca

    March 13, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    1. On no! Not the couch!
    2. We had a round of this a couple weeks ago and it is amazing how much better able to manage the vomit an older kid is. Colum made it to the toilet every single time. Irene never made it anywhere — not even to the vomit basin at the edge of her bed.
    3. So over cake pops! Couldn’t agree more.
    4. Waking with a newborn is way less disruptive and exhausting. Don’t worry.

     
    • realfoodcooking

      March 13, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      Rebecca, you are so supportive!! Thank you. I needed to hear all of that. (We’ve napped now and I – and Sam too – are feeling MUCH better. Praise God!)

       

Leave a Reply

 
