RSS

Product/Service Review (sort of)

21 Feb

During this 3rd pregnancy of mine, I’ve had a lot of headaches.  And I mean a lot.  There was a period in January that lasted for 10 days without reprieve.  I am a regular migraine sufferer, so I can manage a headache just fine.  But to last for 10 days?  That’s just evil!  Thankfully, the veil did lift and the pain subsided.  Since then I’ve had one or two headaches a week.  I can deal with that.

Especially since I have a chiropractor who is very gifted, and a dear friend who is an RMT!  These angels among us have made a huge difference in my life recently, and I am for ever grateful for them (and by “them” I mean you Ron & you Treela.  Love you guys!!).  At my last visit, my chiropractor commented that the headaches I was describing sounded a lot like eye strain.  And I thought, “Well, that make sense.  Since I’ve been without glasses for a year and a half now…”  So I left his office firmly resolved to get some new ones.

My first stop – as with many people, I expect – was to Lenscrafters.  I had a great time picking out frames and trying them on, sending pictures to my sister to get her feedback, as well as my niece’s, making sure that I got a good pair of specs.  We picked a fabulous pair, and there was a 30% off the frames and lenses sale happening, and I was stoked!  I would have glasses in about an hour!  The very friendly and helpful sales associate tallied everything up, and the total cost was $396.

<gulp>

“Wow…” I said.  “The frames were ticketed at $160, less 30% right?” The sales associate nodded her head.  “Then how did we get to $400?”  She showed me the math and somehow, my glasses were about to cost me $400.  The last time I bought glasses, I got regular ones as well as a pair of prescription sunglasses, and the total was $278.  I said to her, “Is it just me?  Or have the prices really jumped?”  She solemnly nodded her head, obviously knowing that I was about to leave and not come back.  She did her part to help me – offered a cheaper lens than their standard one, as well as giving me an application for credit to defer the payments for 6 months, but really?  I did not want to pay $400 for one pair of glasses.  Yes, we have benefits and so I would be reimbursed for the majority of the cost but still!  I love a deal (as I talked about here) and this was no deal my friends.

So I did something I’ve thought about before, but never actually gone ahead and done.  I went to www.clearlycontacts.ca and I bought my glasses online.  They have very helpful tools to make sure you get the right sizing information, the right placement of the centre of your lenses, all the FAQ’s you can imagine, plus: 365-day, no-questions-asked, money-back-guarantee.  How could I go wrong?  What did I have to lose?  With the help of MOMD we got my measurements sorted out, I entered the details from my prescription (I saw the optometrist in October of 2011, so it’s a new prescription), et…  voila!  I had ordered a pair of glasses as well as 3 boxes of contact lenses.  The shipping was complimentary, and my package scheduled to arrive at my door on Friday, February 24.  My total?  $157.28.

That? That my friends, is a wicked deal.

And so, I was happy.  Everso happy in fact!  I was telling everyone about my online find, and promising to let them know what happens when the package arrives.

Today, my doorbell rang.  “Who could that be,” I wondered.  It was Purolator, arriving with my package from Clearly Contacts.  Wow!  It’s 3 days early!  My positive experience was even more so now!  I excitedly sat at the table, opened my box, and found my contact lenses, my glasses PLUS a free pair of sunglasses!  Which look awesome on me, just incase you’re wondering.

I tried the glasses on right away and…  well, I’m bummed.  I’m not going to keep them because the lenses are too shallow.  Does that make sense to you?  They’re small, like readers.  You know the glasses that librarians stereotypically have perched on their noses?  Yeah – they’re like that.  And I like a bigger lens.  But the contacts are great – I’ve been wearing them for about 2 hours now and I’m not having any reaction.  Which is a blessed relief, let me tell you!  So, since I knew what I was going to keep and what I need to return, I started looking on their site for how to do this.

In the end, I decided not to wade through the morass of information on my own.  I simply clicked on the “chat live with a customer service rep now” button (they have a phone number which I could have easily called, but every time I end up on the phone, my 3-year-old turns into a screaming banshee.  So chat is a great feature for me) and a friendly avatar named Aaron appeared to help me.

Turns out?  Returning is totally easy!  Aaron emailed me a waybill right away and confirmed that YES, Clearly Contacts pays for the return shipment as well.  Once they receive the package, the return is processed, and my credit card on file for that order will be credited the amount of the glasses.  Easy-squeezey like a cheesey.  And now I know a little more about what to look for with lens size information, so I will get back to shopping today.

My verdict?  Clearly Contacts rocks.  I don’t think I will ever again pay retail for my eye-wear needs.   If you decide to take a look at their site, and then find something you just have to have, email me at mmichellesATgmailDOTcom so that I can refer you.  You’ll get a discount on your purchase, I think it’s like 30%, so it’s totally worth the moment it takes to email me.

Happy shopping!

Information shared here is totally biased, based solely on my personal experience.  I was not paid for this review, but if you want to pay me I accept cash and/or cheques.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Opinion

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Product/Service Review (sort of)

  1. krissu

    February 21, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    not to be bummer or anything, but there is an issue with ordering online. http://newsfromaoa.org/2011/11/09/half-of-online-eyeglasses-fail-rx-or-safety-specifications/

     
    • realfoodcooking

      February 22, 2012 at 12:48 am

      Interesting! Thanks for the heads-up. I’ve read the link you provide, and it seems to be about retailers in the US. While it’s true that consumers should be aware of issues, I wonder if the same problems exist in Canada… do you know?

       
  2. Rebecca

    February 22, 2012 at 4:31 am

    My last pair are from there too! I was iffy about it but enough people on Twitter were raving about their experiences, that I decided to try it out. Mine weren’t quite as cheap because my prescription requires premium lenses, but I loved it. I know what style of glasses suit my face and the glasses I have are perfect for every day. (Though I’m still a little bummed that the most gorgeous Vera Wang lenses ever were sold out.) As for the prescription, they seem fine to me.

     
  3. Skwishee

    February 28, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Good lord – last time I got glasses, it was eight hundred dollars. With a discount. Of course, I did get two pair and I’m practically blind.

     
  4. Jules

    March 5, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Al had a similar experience with a pair of glasses that he ordered during one of their blitz ‘free glasses’ promo’s (which they run on their FB page periodically btw!) He kept them (’cause they were free..) but continues to order all of his contacts from them. Means we get much more for our benefits dollar!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
