RSS

Does this mean I need to learn about Pokemon?

11 Apr

It seems I start out a lot of my posts responding to something I’ve seen on facebook.  Huh.  Well, you don’t judge me for my social outlets, and I won’t judge you for yours.  Deal?  Good.

Moving on…

A friend of mine posted this on facebook yesterday.  And wow – it smacked me like only something that is unavoidably the truth can:

Image

If you have ever spent time with a child who is obsessed with Pokemon, you will understand why this hit me like a smack in the face.  Even other children who are not into Pokemon, are with me on this.  I know this, because I had a conversation with my 7.5 year old cousin a few weeks back, about how if he had to hear his sister and my son say another word about Pokemon, he was going to hit something.  My response to this comment was basically, “TESTIFY!”

So then, if I want my Pokemon-obsessed child to talk to me later about love and sex and drugs and whatnot, I need to be listening to him talk about Pokemon all day?  Is that I need to do?  Because…  because man.  I can work on that but it’s going to be so. tough.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2012 in Randomness, Vexations

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Does this mean I need to learn about Pokemon?

  1. Rachel @ Grasping for Objectivity

    April 12, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Wow – that is powerful. And so hard, when you’ve heard about their favorite color, second favorite color, and fifteenth favorite color every day for the past two and a half years.

     

Leave a comment